Transcreation and Copywriting
Thread poster: MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
Local time: 11:02
English to French
+ ...
Dec 7, 2022

Would you do transcreation without a prior experience in copywriting?

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Yes Dec 7, 2022

A good translator is already a copywriter and transcreator.

But most translators aren't.

MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
Joakim Braun
Michael Newton
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Yaotl Altan

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yes Dec 7, 2022

I do transcreation and I have no experience whatsoever in copywriting. I worked for some time as account executive at an advertising agency…

MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
Kay Denney
Josephine Cassar

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:02
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Yes Dec 7, 2022

They are two totally different disciplines.

MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU
Josephine Cassar

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
Does it involve SEO? Dec 7, 2022

SEO can’t be done without knowledge or experience. No, it’s not only about placing keywords into the text.

Plain copywriting could potentially be done without experience (not sure how effective though).

Copywriting and transcreation are two different things. The latter is like rewriting, the former is idea and wording generation from scratch, it also involves content planning.

[Edited at 2022-12-07 11:01 GMT]

Robert Rietvelt
MOUNIR LOUKOUMANOU

Denis Fesik
Denis Fesik
Local time: 13:02
English to Russian
+ ...
Do high school essays and term papers count? Dec 7, 2022