How to calculate prize for book of short stories. It is my first literary translation project
Thread poster: Maria de los Ángeles Esteves
Maria de los Ángeles Esteves
Maria de los Ángeles Esteves  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 08:31
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 25

Hello,
I am new to this. A friend asked me to translate his book of short stories from Spanish (Argentinean) to English American. It is my first professional literary translation job apart from translations of my own literary works. It has 16.749 words in total. What would be a reasonable rate and time of delivery? I am willing to charge the absolute minimum since I have very little professional experience, but I might want to ask someone more experienced to check it before I deliver it.
... See more
Hello,
I am new to this. A friend asked me to translate his book of short stories from Spanish (Argentinean) to English American. It is my first professional literary translation job apart from translations of my own literary works. It has 16.749 words in total. What would be a reasonable rate and time of delivery? I am willing to charge the absolute minimum since I have very little professional experience, but I might want to ask someone more experienced to check it before I deliver it. Is this something that is usually done, and if yes, how much that person would want to be paid so I include it in the asking price?
Thank you in advance!
Angeles
Collapse

IrinaN
IrinaN
United States
Local time: 01:31
English to Russian
+ ...
American English Mar 25

A Spanish native living in Netherlands to undertake first literary translation into US English for a friend... Does your friend intend to sell the book in the US? Is it the first book? Self-publishing in mind?