Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How much do you rely on MT (and CAT tools in general) for your work?
Thread poster: Daniel Santana
Daniel Santana
Daniel Santana  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 1, 2022

Hi, everybody! I am a newbie to the translation world. I have been trying to learn how to use Trados because I know how useful and how important CAT tools are in this industry, and I know that Trados is the most widely used CAT software. However, while watching the introductory videos, it caught my attention how whenever there was no TM match MT was used in its place, instead of manually inputting the translation. This had me wondering if this is the industry standard or if it is up to translato... See more
Hi, everybody! I am a newbie to the translation world. I have been trying to learn how to use Trados because I know how useful and how important CAT tools are in this industry, and I know that Trados is the most widely used CAT software. However, while watching the introductory videos, it caught my attention how whenever there was no TM match MT was used in its place, instead of manually inputting the translation. This had me wondering if this is the industry standard or if it is up to translators to decide when to use MT. I don't see anything bad with doing it, but I feel that manually translating gives me more "command" over the text, so to speak, than just doing an MTPE. I just wanted to know how much I should rely on CAT tools and, more specifically, on MT.

PS, sorry if this is labeled under the wrong topic, as I said I am a newbie to translation and ProZ

[Edited at 2022-05-01 17:01 GMT]
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 01:48
English to Russian
TM v. MT May 1, 2022

The CAT tool you mentioned above is not the only tool in the market. There are plenty of them.