Step To Starting A Top-notch Translation Career?
Thread poster: Alsea Alessia Angelico Esposito
Alsea Alessia Angelico Esposito
Alsea Alessia Angelico Esposito  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:26
English to Italian
May 13, 2014

Hi, everyone!

Hope this post finds you well.

I am an Italian student enrolled in the second year of a Master's degree in Business Administration in Italy. I am passionate about languages and I recently decided that I would like to pursue a career in translation.

Since I am a newbie and don’t know much about this field, I would like to exploit the existence of this group to ask some advice, if possible.

I am thinking about getting a Master's
... See more
Hi, everyone!

Hope this post finds you well.

I am an Italian student enrolled in the second year of a Master's degree in Business Administration in Italy. I am passionate about languages and I recently decided that I would like to pursue a career in translation.

Since I am a newbie and don’t know much about this field, I would like to exploit the existence of this group to ask some advice, if possible.

I am thinking about getting a Master's degree in Translation and Interpreting and I found some programs that start in September 2014. I am fluent in English and I have some experience in translating from English to Italian and vice versa, but I don't know any other language at a proficiency level. I am wondering if it would be better to take some time to refine my skills in a third language (I know some Spanish and French) and begin translation studies afterwards, or if there are real possibilities to work with just a 2-language combination in today's market worldwide. I would prefer to start my career as soon as possible, so if I could start studying this Fall I would be happier. My fear, though, is that there may not be enough demand for the Italian-English package, and investing in an education with just these 2 languages would be just a waste of money and time!