Lif
Lif
Germany
Local time: 14:02
English to German
+ ...
Jun 27, 2008

Hello!

I am a freelance translator currently based in London and am planning on going back to Germany this year to continue working as a freelancer. Has anyone here had experience with working as a freelancer in the UK as well as in Germany?
Are taxes in Germany generally higher and the outcome lower? Is it tougher working as a freelancer in Germany? This is the impression I am generally getting when I talk to people, but I would like to know it from someone who has actually
... See more
Hello!

I am a freelance translator currently based in London and am planning on going back to Germany this year to continue working as a freelancer. Has anyone here had experience with working as a freelancer in the UK as well as in Germany?
Are taxes in Germany generally higher and the outcome lower? Is it tougher working as a freelancer in Germany? This is the impression I am generally getting when I talk to people, but I would like to know it from someone who has actually experienced the differences.

Thanks for your help!

Lisa
Collapse

RobinB
RobinB  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:02
German to English
Favourable situation in Germany Jun 27, 2008

Lisa,

I've only ever worked as a freelancer in Germany, but I know plenty of UK freelancers and have a good idea of the situation there, too.

Are taxes in Germany generally higher and the outcome lower?

No, I don't think so overall, especially as there is no equivalent to Schedule D contributions in Germany: self-employed people in Germany don't pay any form of national insurance contributions. They are responsible for arranging their own health insurance and retirement provision, which is then tax-deductible up to a certain limit.