Marita La Palm
Marita La Palm
United States
Local time: 04:52
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 1, 2008

Hi All,
This is my first time posting. I am trying to get started as a Spanish-English translator. I am also currently enrolled in a Master's in Creative Writing.

I would like to take the admissions test for NYU's certificate program, but I am wondering about its difficulty. Since it has been several years since I have been in Mexico, I am nervous about whether the 300 words will be at a literary/technical level or just basic fluent Spanish. The other thing is, since I b
... See more
Hi All,
This is my first time posting. I am trying to get started as a Spanish-English translator. I am also currently enrolled in a Master's in Creative Writing.

I would like to take the admissions test for NYU's certificate program, but I am wondering about its difficulty. Since it has been several years since I have been in Mexico, I am nervous about whether the 300 words will be at a literary/technical level or just basic fluent Spanish. The other thing is, since I by and large speak Mexican Spanish and can get by with Spanish Spanish, I am wondering what dialect the exam will be in. For example, I picked up a Cuban book recently and some of the vocabulary/ phrasing was new to me. I am taking a trip to Mexico to refresh my Spanish. Therefore, my options are to take the test before my trip or after it. I would rather know if I am accepted to the program before my chance to get into another certificate runs out, but I am not sure if my Spanish is good enough to pass.

What would you recommend?

Also, I was wondering if anyone was able to obtain financial aid for this program. I know it sounds silly, but I don't make that much in my current job, and I am in the middle of paying for my master's as well.
Collapse

nordiste
nordiste  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 10:52
English to French
+ ...
find a way to know more about the test May 3, 2008