Tae Kim
Tae Kim  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:25
Member (2007)
English to Korean
+ ...
Dec 7, 2009

Is it just me, but ever since I became a professional full time translator and have gotten some experience being a translator, I have become really good in board word games like literati in Yahoo games and scrabble. I just beat everyone who challenges me in those games. Words come to me so naturally when playing these games! I guess it's all because I write/translate more than 3000 words everyday, haha. There may be some down sides to being a homebound freelance translator, but there are som... See more
Is it just me, but ever since I became a professional full time translator and have gotten some experience being a translator, I have become really good in board word games like literati in Yahoo games and scrabble. I just beat everyone who challenges me in those games. Words come to me so naturally when playing these games! I guess it's all because I write/translate more than 3000 words everyday, haha. There may be some down sides to being a homebound freelance translator, but there are some bright sides and 'benefits' of being one!

[Edited at 2009-12-07 00:38 GMT]

[Edited at 2009-12-07 00:40 GMT]
Collapse

Robert Forstag
Robert Forstag  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:25
Spanish to English
+ ...
Scrabble at the tournament level is a whole different ballgame... Dec 7, 2009

I don't know about "Literati", but those who hope to succeed at Scrabble at the level of organized tournaments needs to not only memorize thousands of words that really only exist in dictionaries, but also develop a finely tuned sense of knowing almost instantaneously when their racks and the board configuration of the moment allows them to make a high-scoring play. Even with a powerful memory and abundant linguistic gifts, it takes a lot of time to acquire such skills. It seems hardly worth it... See more