Thread poster: janduarte
janduarte
janduarte
United States
Local time: 13:37
English to Spanish
Aug 25, 2008

Hi guys,
What is the difference between TRADOS Professinal and TRADOS freelance?

Mari Noller
Mari Noller
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:37
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Basically... Aug 25, 2008

How many PC's that can run the program at the same time in one local network area, from what I understand.
Probably several things different, but it says on the SDL Trados website doesn't it?

janduarte
janduarte
United States
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, Mari Aug 25, 2008

Thanks Mari, I am new in the Translation business and I just want to know if getting the freelance version (which is cheaper) is worth it.

Grzegorz Gryc
Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:37
French to Polish
+ ...
Basic diferences... Aug 25, 2008

Mari Noller wrote:

How many PC's that can run the program at the same time in one local network area, from what I understand.

Yep.
And the TM sharing between several PCs.
Attention.
In theory, you can't share termbases, you need a terminology server (extremely expensive).
In fact, it's not true but needs some imagination

Probably several things different, but it says on the SDL Trados website doesn't it?

The most important difference are:

1)
In the FL versions, you're limited to 5 languages you select during the installation.
It's sufficient for most of us but if you deal with more languages or you're managing multilingual projects, the Pro version is a must.

2)
IMHO, a more flexible licensing if you select the floating model.
E.g. you can install T. on several machines and "borrow" the licence from the licence server you deploy on your local network.

Some other (few) features are available in the Pro version but they're designed for project managers or advanced users (e.g. creating TM subsets for the current project).