Joining source + target sentences that are not immediately above/below each other in MemoQ?
Thread poster: FreelanceBass
FreelanceBass
FreelanceBass
United States
Local time: 19:31
Japanese to English
Jun 7, 2017

(Foreword: I am completely new to MemoQ)

I'm working with an Excel document in which a number of the source phrases are, for some reason, separated by more than one segment when imported into MemoQ. So I am continually running into fragmented phrases which are not easily joinable as they are not close to each other - even though they are right above/below each other in the original Excel document!

Example:

#1: Then Bobby and I ran

#2: Unrelated
... See more
(Foreword: I am completely new to MemoQ)

I'm working with an Excel document in which a number of the source phrases are, for some reason, separated by more than one segment when imported into MemoQ. So I am continually running into fragmented phrases which are not easily joinable as they are not close to each other - even though they are right above/below each other in the original Excel document!

Example:

#1: Then Bobby and I ran

#2: Unrelated

#3: Unrelated....

......#12 : To the store

This is wasting an inordinate amount of time as I have to seek out the matching segments for each phrase in order to translate them (plus, sometimes the segments are broken up into three or four pieces). And this isn't a one-off; I keep running into this issue. I also don't know how to join these segments when they are separated like this, which doesn't help any.