Which CAT tool is most recommended for medical tanslator?
Thread poster: Susan Li
Susan Li
Susan Li
United States
Local time: 15:31
English to Chinese
+ ...
Jan 30, 2017

I am an English-Chinese translator specializing in medical and biotech. I just started so I'm wondering if it's necessary to purchase SDL Trados? 

Elif Baykara Narbay
Elif Baykara Narbay  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 22:31
German to Turkish
+ ...
Such a decision depends on various factors. Jan 30, 2017

I understand that Chinese may pose other difficulties in terms of character recognition etc. But apart from the language constraints, selection and buying a CAT tool depend on your specific conditions.
I am a medical translator too and I am translating quite a lot of documents every month. However, most of them are either in form of a "project package" which is actually a file delivery format used by agencies to send a complete set of CAT projects including termbases, translation memories
... See more
I understand that Chinese may pose other difficulties in terms of character recognition etc. But apart from the language constraints, selection and buying a CAT tool depend on your specific conditions.
I am a medical translator too and I am translating quite a lot of documents every month. However, most of them are either in form of a "project package" which is actually a file delivery format used by agencies to send a complete set of CAT projects including termbases, translation memories etc. Also, some translation companies require the utilization of a CAT tool and if you want to work with them, you should use one

Another group of my files consists of word and pdf files and it is very convenient for me to use a CAT tool so I can more easily evaluate the files before starting the translation, have a better control of the workflow etc. CAT tools also enable an efficient quality assurance which comes very handy in large files.